MANTENO COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 5 Reorganization Meeting of the Board of Education Tuesday, April 26, 2011 – 7:00 p.m. High School Library

Open Meeting	The meeting was held in the library of the Manteno High School, and was called to order by President Pro-Tem Mallaney at 9:10 p.m.
Roll Call	The following members answered to roll call:G. DodgeE. Hofmeister P. MallaneyM. NelsonG. PrestonJ. ToepperM. Stauffenberg – seven (7)
	Also present: Supt. Russert, K. Meyer, P. Russert, D. Conrad, R. Fortin, R. Schnitzler, S. Clark, J. Palicki, A. Furbee, T. Steele, J. Ruland, D. Christ, J. DePoister and Clerk Fortin - (14) Visitors: None – (0).
Pledge of Allegiance	President Pro-Tem Mallaney led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.
	Moved by Dodge, seconded by Hofmeister to appoint Deb Fortin as Recording Secretary. Voice vote – all ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.
Swearing In Of New Board Members	President Pro-Tem Mallaney administered the oath of office to the newly elected School Board members: Gale Dodge, Dr. Elizabeth Hofmeister, Mike Nelson and Mark Stauffenberg.
Election of President	President Pro-Tem Mallaney opened the nominations for President of the Board of Education. Member Dodge nominated Mark Stauffenberg, Member Preston seconded the motion. Since there were no further nominations heard, Secretary Pro-Tem Toepper was instructed to cast a unanimous ballot for Member Stauffenberg and Member Stauffenberg was declared elected as President.
Election of Vice Presiden	President Stauffenberg opened the nominations for Board Vice President. t Member Nelson nominated Member Preston, Member Dodge seconded the motion. Since there were no further nominations heard, Secretary Pro-Tem Toepper was instructed to cast a unanimous ballot for Member Preston and Member Preston was declared elected as Vice President.
Election of Secretary	President Stauffenberg opened the nominations for Board Secretary. Member Nelson nominated Member Mallaney, and Member Toepper seconded the motion. Since no further nominations were heard, Secretary Pro-Tem Toepper was instructed to cast a unanimous ballot for Member Mallaney and Member Mallaney was declared elected as Secretary.
Election Of Treasurer	Moved by Dodge, seconded by Hofmeister that Kathy Meyer be appointed Treasurer for the 2011-2012 school year. Ayes: Dodge, Hofmeister, Mallaney, Nelson, Preston, Toepper, and Stauffenberg – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Approval of Moved by Nelson, seconded by Stauffenberg to approve the following: Board

Reorganizational

Items **Establishment of Date, Time and Place of Regular Board Meetings** – The fourth Tuesday of each month, at 6:30 p.m. in the High School Library be continued as the date, time, and place of the regular meetings of the Manteno CUSD No. 5 Board of Education.

Adoption of Existing Board Policies – Existing Board Policies to be adopted.

Designation of Depositories for District Funds – Board to designate Bank of Bourbonnais, Centrue Bank, Certificate of Deposit Account Registry Service (CDARS), HomeStar Bank, Illinois School District Liquid Asset Fund, Municipal Trust and Savings Bank, and PMA Financial Network, Inc. as depositories for District funds.

<u>Architectural Firm</u> – Services of BLDD Architects be approved as the District architectural firm.

<u>Accounting Firm</u> – Continuation of services of Smith, Koelling, Dykstra, & Ohm approved as the auditing firm for the District.

Legal Counsel – Continuation of services of Canna and Canna, Ltd. as District legal counsel.

<u>**Committee Members**</u> – All committee members remain the same.

Ayes: Nelson, Stauffenberg, Dodge, Hofmeister, Mallaney, Preston, and Toepper – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Appoint Moved by Stauffenberg, seconded by Nelson to appoint Jon Toepper as the

Governing Illinois Association of School Board's Governing Board representative.

Board Rep. Ayes: Stauffenberg, Nelson, Dodge, Hofmeister, Mallaney, Preston, and Toepper – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Adjournment Moved by Nelson, seconded by Toepper to adjourn the meeting. Voice vote – all ayes (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried. The open meeting ended at 9:17 p.m.

Mark Stauffenberg* Patrick Mallaney*

Board President, Mark Stauffenberg Board Secretary, Patrick Mallaney

*Original signatures on file at the District Office.